On Compassion Fatigue

I believe I have developed a non-physical muscle that allows me to put a certain degree of desensitivity (apparently not a real word) between subject I’m studying and me. This muscle hasn’t always been as strong as it is today, but after exercising it consistently for years, it had no choice but to develop and strengthen. When you lift weights, you inflict tiny tears into your muscles that, when healed, are replaced by stronger, bulkier fibers that prepare you to lift more the next time (that was the most unscientific, amateur way of explaining that process, but you get the point). 

Full story: http://treekisser.tumblr.com/post/59638460538/photo-of-me-from-this-years-national-animal

Leave a Reply

