BOOK REVIEW: The Ahimsa Club

The Ahimsa Club

Teenage animal lovers and veg*ns should not miss fine YA novel. I only regret that it is available only as an e-book, as I would have liked to have purchased it for my library.

Set in 1991, Ahimsa Club is the story of high school student Valerie, her best friend Angie, and a life-changing school assembly. After viewing a slideshow hosted by plucky British activist April Kirk (no big mystery whom she is based upon), the previously unaware Valerie must face some unpleasant facts about how her food reaches her plate. She decides to become a vegetarian and form an animal advocacy club at her school.

Val experiences the highs and lows that will be instantly recognizable to any young person who has taken up a cause.

This book is currently available as a downloadable e-book on Amazon.

(review originally appeared at goodreads.com)

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sid Misener
    Jan 18, 2012 @ 23:21:16

    Spot on with this write-up, I really assume this web site needs rather more consideration. I?ll in all probability be once more to learn way more, thanks for that info.

    Reply

  2. Rebecca Burke
    Jan 23, 2012 @ 17:20:51

    Hi. I’m the author of The Ahimsa Club and I just want to thank you for your nice review of my novel. If not for the wonders of indie publishing, it would no doubt still be in a digital drawer. My own agent wouldn’t even read it when she found out it was about animal rights! A very loaded topic, as you probably know already, especially with children’s and teen book imprints, librarians, parents, etc. The book was accepted by a well-known publisher of environmental titles, but then their marketing arm found out and made them rescind the offer (unless I wanted to sub “trees” for “animals”–!).

    I’ve had to change the cover from the one you show here. I think this one was a little too depressing for most potential readers, and I’m already having a bit more luck with a new one, one that hints at the humor, music themes, etc., in the book.

    I really enjoyed your review of Deer Hunting with Jesus as well, a book that’s been on my TBR list for a long time. Almost as much as the bunny poster next to this comment column! Dare I say it: adorable.

    Is there any possibility you’d consider cutting and pasting your review over at Amazon on its book page? It’s so tough to get any traction when you’re an indie publisher, especially as teen readers aren’t inclined to write reviews. If you would, I’d appreciate it greatly; if not, I understand.

    Keep up the nice work with your thoughtful reviews. I also enjoyed the one about the greyhound book.

    Rebecca Burke

    Reply

    • 19peace80
      Jan 23, 2012 @ 22:50:10

      Hi there! Thank you for stopping by. Of course I will repost my review on Amazon…it is my hope that more young people will read it, as well. How amazing that you went through some of the same troubles as Valerie in spreading your message. Thanks again!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

