Horses Don’t Have Much to be Thankful for this Year

One of my favorite writers is Sylvia Plath, and my very favorite quote from her is ‘If you expect nothing from anybody, you’re never disappointed.’ It has served me well especially in regards to President Obama.

Horses soon could be butchered in the U.S. for human consumption after Congress quietly lifted a five-year-old ban on funding horse meat inspections, and activists say slaughterhouses could be up and running in as little as a month.

Slaughter opponents had pushed a bill stopping funding for horse meat inspections through Congress in 2006 after other efforts to pass bans on horse slaughter failed. Congress lifted the ban in a spending bill President Obama signed into law Nov. 18 to keep the government afloat until mid-December.

Full story

Horse advocates should be aware that despite slaughter proponents’ near-universal argument that horses are being abused and neglected in droves because their owners “can’t” have them butchered, there is in fact no evidence of this.

ETA: Snopes.com readers were also recently appraised of this situation.

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Auto Approve List Scrapebox
    Dec 10, 2011 @ 14:34:38

    I’ll immediately snatch your rss as I can’t in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.

    Reply

  2. Clifford Bilotto
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 08:35:04

    Your blog makes me proud off what I am.

    Reply

  3. vlc media player
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 15:49:58

    Good blog! I really love how it’s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

    Reply

  4. best auto insurance rates online
    Dec 18, 2011 @ 19:03:50

    Hi. I wished to drop you a fast note to express my thanks. I’ve been following your blog this post for a month or so and have picked up a ton of excellent information and enjoyed the means you’ve structured your site. I’m attempting to run my very own blog but I suppose its too general and I need to focus a lot of on smaller topics.

    Reply

  5. Deshawn
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 15:38:36

    Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i came to “return the favor”.I’m attempting to find things to improve my site!I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

    Reply

  6. Felton
    Dec 27, 2011 @ 19:20:27

    Hello there! Excellent post! Please inform us when I will see a follow up!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

