Hypocrisy is the Pits

Although I rarely watch TV, I did manage to catch Animal Planet’s “Pit Bulls and Parolees” this weekend. From what I can gather from one episode, it is decently entertaining, and not nearly as bad as the unwatchable (in my opinion) “Pit Boss.”  

Midway through the show, I glimpsed star pit bull rescuer Tia Torres wearing a shirt with a possibly inflammatory message, so I headed over to  the website of the Villalobos Rescue Center to learn more. If you can ignore all of the pictures of pit bulls with cropped ears (I realize many probably arrive with mutilated ears, but must you have drawings displaying this cruel fad on your logo t-shirts?) Anyway, speaking of T-shirts…

The shirt getting the most airtime on the episode I watched read, Racism is the Pits. Ok, even if you believe that (human-created) domestic dog breeds are exactly the same as human races, one would assume that the person wearing this shirt would strongly disagree with the idea that some dogs are better than others by virtue of their breed. “All dogs are created equal,” in other words.

Oh–but wait, isn’t this website also selling a T-shirt emblazoned with If it Ain’t Pit, it Ain’t Shit? This is the shirt I noted Torres wearing in her office, while, ironically, a small, fluffy dog trotted about on the floor. This small dog was, in fact, the only canine spotted indoors during the episode I watched. Presumably even this dog is worth less than a pile of droppings because he isn’t the correct breed?

Oh, and look–here’s another shirt admonishing non-pit owners to Get a Real Dog. So, presumably, all of the following animals are not only not worth shit, they also aren’t even real dogs.

But I thought racism was the pits, guys?

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Autoapprove Trackback List Scrapebox
    Dec 09, 2011 @ 18:41:30

    Thank you a lot for sharing this with all of us you actually realize what you’re speaking about!

    Reply

  2. Houston
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 12:26:36

    I enjoy, cause I discovered exactly what I used to be taking a look for. You’ve ended my four day long hunt! God Bless you man. Have a great day. Bye

    Reply

  3. Woodrow
    Dec 19, 2011 @ 09:08:17

    As a Newbie, I am continuously exploring online for articles that can benefit me. Thank you

    Reply

  4. wilmington surfing shirts
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 11:20:49

    Regards for this tremendous post, I’m glad I noticed this website on yahoo.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

