An Orgy of Thankfulness

I’ve never been the type of person to get all warm and fuzzy over the holidays. In the weeks leading up to Thanksgiving, Facebook has been abuzz with updates about what people are grateful for, culminating today in an absolute orgy of thankfulness. Maybe I’m too cynical, or seeing it in the wrong way, but to me, it all seems so insincere and manufactured. Ooh–it’s November! Time to be thankful! Now it’s December–time to be merry and buy stuff! Pfft.

Of course, if I expressed these feelings to anyone other than my husband, who feels the same way, I’d probably be labeled terribly insensitive. I sometimes wonder what the holidays would be like if everyone cut the BS and said things like, “I’m thankful for those who have facilitated my experiences in the mysterious world of psychiatric drugs, thanks to which I am now too lazy and aloof to bother with shooting myself.” Now that would be some Thanksgiving.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. vlc media player
    Dec 15, 2011 @ 11:22:12

    Good blog! I really love how it’s easy on my eyes as well as the data are well written. I am wondering how I could be notified whenever a new post has been made. I have subscribed to your rss feed which should do the trick! Have a nice day!

    Reply

  2. Rebecca Greytak
    Dec 16, 2011 @ 23:52:13

    I prefer your blog than any other blogs on the internet

    Reply

  3. Kelsi
    Dec 17, 2011 @ 09:31:09

    Thanks for sharing with us! Very nice info, keep it up! I am very fond of this stuff, and keep looking for that! Not only this post, but other pages of this site were really very appreciative!

    Reply

  4. Steve
    Dec 22, 2011 @ 12:36:16

    Hmm is anyone else encountering issues with the pictures on this weblog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a issue on my end or if it is the blog. Any responses would be greatly appreciated.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

