BOOK REVIEW: If You Were a Cat

If You Were a Cat (First Facts (Simon & Schuster))

If You Were a Cat imagines a feline speaking directly to young readers, relating her habits, activities, and daily life. That’s the good part.

It’s the numerous other problematic attitudes on display that persuade me against recommending this book. Published in 1989, Cat is full of outdated values regarding pets; many of which today’s readers would regard as irresponsible ownership.

The story focuses upon an unspayed , roaming cat. Early on, an illustration shows a cat venturing out into a suburban backyard along with the line, “At night, I go out and explore!” It gets worse from there.

A few pages later we see the result of all of that unsupervised roaming: the cat nursing a litter of four along with the line, “I am a mother cat too.” A few pages later, the kittens are shown being given away.

At the end of the story, with all of her kittens gone, the cat announces she’s “ready to go exploring again,” and is once again outdoors. Sigh. And the cycle begins anew.

For adults, books such as Cat are interesting from a historical point of view; they show prevalent attitudes of the past which no doubt contributed to the 1980s shelter euthanasia rates being more than double what they are in 2011. However, the intended audience won’t be able to put the material into context.

(Review originally appeared at goodreads.com)

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Virgen Basten
    Oct 24, 2011 @ 16:42:40

    WONDERFUL Post.thanks for share..more wait .. ?

    Reply

  2. Emeline Getting
    Oct 25, 2011 @ 17:51:01

    I love your Blog, it’s nice when you can tell somebody actuallly puts effort into a blog, and gives the blogs value.

    Reply

  3. The best way to Talk to a great Australian Accent
    Nov 01, 2011 @ 10:10:06

    I enjoyed your blog. It’s readable, the information is superior, and your an educated writer unlike the majority of the blogs I find when searching within this topic. I will certainly check back in the future and see if you have had anymore articles or reviews. Thanks for the purpose of posting this particular, I take pleasure in the infomration and also the effort you placed in your web-site.

    Reply

  4. Ways to Flirt with a Australian Accent
    Nov 06, 2011 @ 01:16:09

    Greetings My group is so excited I discovered your blog, I actually found you mistakenly, while I actually was exploring on Aol for something different, Regardless We are here these days and would as with to thank you a lot in a marvelous post in addition to a all circular interesting blog (As i also like the theme/design), I are deprived of time to get a over the lot at the moment but I have bookmarked it and likewise added any RSS for, so whenever i have time I will be back to learn more, Please do keep up the superb job.

    Reply

  5. Miguel Simpelo
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 08:27:05

    I am often to blogging and i really appreciate your content. The article has really peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new information.

    Reply

  6. baby swing
    Nov 11, 2011 @ 10:11:19

    I thought it was going to be some boring old web page, but I’m glad I visited. I will post a link to this page on my blog. I’m confident my visitors will locate that incredibly valuable.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

